Wheat Free Recipes
Eating Wheat Free
Wheat is now listed in the top 8 food allergens along with peanuts, tree nuts, milk, fish, shellfish, eggs and soy.
People are advised to avoid eating wheat for a variety of health reasons, but the main reason is usually due to an allergy or abnormal sensitivity to wheat in the digestive tract. For instance, if you have celiac disease, you are instructed to avoid products that contain gluten - for life. Gluten is in wheat and some other grains. Something can be wheat free but still contain gluten if it has, for instance, malt, which is usually derived from barley. In that case, the food would be wheat free but not gluten free because barley contains gluten.
Alternatively, you may experience digestion disturbances with pain, bloating, constipation and diarrhea and have been advised to stop eating wheat for a period of time (usually a recommended 6 weeks).
Eating a wheat free diet can take bit of planning and adjusting, but is increasingly easy to do. Health food stores and some supermarkets now offer a range of wheat alternatives. Watch the ingredients on the foods you buy for hidden wheat and check out the following recipes to get started on a wheat-free journey to feeling better.